Join us on Facebook!Follow us on Twitter!

General News
Fall Funfest on the Square this Saturday, Oct. 12 PDF Print E-mail
Written by Jessie Williams   
Tuesday, October 8, 2013


To celebrate the season, merchants on the Lafayette Public Square are extending an invitation to everyone to join them for the fifth annual Fall Funfest on the Square set for Saturday, October 12, from 11 a.m. to 2 p.m.

During the afternoon event, a variety of fall-inspired activities are scheduled at no cost for children and adults, including train rides, storytelling, apple bobbing, wagon rides by Kenny Jones, a cake walk, a fire truck display and a Halloween costume contest.

Free balloons and popcorn will also be given away at Macon Bank & Trust and the Macon County Sheriffs Department will be displaying the D.A.R.E Paddy Wagon.

 In the spirit of the season of giving, guests will be eligible to register for gift certificates from participating merchants to be given away at 2 p.m. on the Courthouse lawn. Each of the local businesses participating in the event will also offer special Fall Funfest deals and discounts to consumers.

To enter for the gift certificate drawings, register at any of the participating merchants the day of the event. Participating merchants include the Macon County Chronicle, Johnson’s Jewelers, Cathy’s Flowers & Gifts, Indigo Blues, Macon Department Store, Gibson’s Café, Macon Bank & Trust, Citizens Bank, Been Set Free, McClard’s Gifts, Healing Hands of Peace Ministry, Inspirations, Linda’s Cakes & Catering and All About Sports.

Kids Costume Contest judging will take place at 1:30 p.m. on the courthouse lawn. The First Place winner will receive $50, Second Place will receive $25 and Third Place will be awarded $15.

Storytelling will be held at McClard’s Gifts and Macon Department Store and Gibson’s Café will host the bobbing for apples event.

So mark your calendars for Fall Funfest on the Square on Saturday, October 12, for an afternoon of family fun and fantastic discounts at your favorite local businesses!

For more information see page A-13 or contact the Macon County Chronicle at 688-6397.

Teens Playing 'Chicken' Crash on Long Creek PDF Print E-mail
Written by Debbie Gregory   
Tuesday, October 1, 2013


Two local teenage boys were playing the dangerous road game “Chicken” last Saturday morning, September 28, on Long Creek Road when their pickup trucks crashed head on, said investigator Trooper Johnny Rodgers, of the Tennessee Highway Patrol. One walked away with only minor injuries and the other was admitted to Vanderbilt Medical Center, in Nashville. Both drivers were 17-years-old.

One teen was driving west on Long Creek Road in a white 1997 Dodge Durango truck and the other teen was traveling east in a 1991 Nissan pickup. “Both drivers were on the wrong side of the road,” said Trooper Rodgers, “and were trying to get back into their own lanes when they hit head on at 8:11 a.m.”

“Both drivers admitted to playing the road game “Chicken” which caused the accident,” added Trooper Rodgers. “The drivers were both unrestrained and one teen was transported to Sumner Regional Medical Center in Gallatin by ambulance and then transported to Vanderbilt Hospital in Nashville, Tennessee.” He has since been released.

Charges are pending.

Those responding to the scene were the Macon County Sheriffs Office, Tennessee Highway Patrol, Macon County EMS, and the Macon County Chronicle.

Governor Haslam to Present $500,000 CDBG to Macon County PDF Print E-mail
Written by Debbie Gregory   
Tuesday, October 1, 2013


Tennessee Governor Bill Haslam will visit Lafayette today, Tuesday, October 1st, to deliver a $500,000 Community Development Block Grant (CDBG) to Macon County for a water line extension project.

The City of Lafayette will present $95,000 in matching funds to be combined for a total of $595,000 to extend water lines out in the county on the following roads: Green Valley Road, White Springs Road, McCall Lane, Carter Road and Woodmore Road.

“I was notified last Thursday, September 26, that we had been approved for this grant,” said County Mayor Shelvy Linville. “Community Development Block Grants are federal money given out through HUD to let the State apportion as they see needed,” said Mayor Linville. “Fay Leonard, of Vantage Consulting Services, was the grant writer for this project.”

“The Governor will be flying in at the Lafayette Municipal Airport today (Tuesday) around 1:30 pm.,” added Linville, “and the check will be presented in the courtroom at the Macon County Courthouse.”

“I appreciate Mayor Richard Driver, the City of Lafayette, and City Council members for being willing to partner with the county on this project,” said Linville.

Work on the water line extension project is scheduled to begin by the spring of 2014.

Jessa Spears Wins Pageant Title at the Tennessee State Fair PDF Print E-mail
Written by Debbie Gregory   
Tuesday, September 24, 2013


Five-year-old Jessa Spears, of Lafayette, was crowned Tennessee State Fair Little Miss Queen on Saturday, September 14, during the state fair in Nashville, Tennessee.

RBS Police Investigate Car Wreck PDF Print E-mail
Written by Debbie Gregory   
Tuesday, September 24, 2013


The Red Boiling Springs Police Department investigated a horrific one car wreck on Saturday, September 21, that resulted in a 28-year-old Lafayette man being carried by Lifeflight to Vanderbilt Hospital where he remains in stable condition this week. Jonathan Kee, who was the driver and only occupant of the 2000 Chevrolet Malibu, will also face numerous charges, which were obtained by Officer Jimmy Morgan, when he is released from the Nashville hospital.

The accident happened at 7:40 p.m. at 421 Lafayette Road inside the Red Boiling Springs city limits.

RBS Police Chief Terry Tuck said that according to witnesses, Mr. Kee over took another vehicle traveling north on Hwy. 56 and met oncoming traffic. “He turned to get back in his lane and lost control of the car striking a tree at that location,” said Chief Tuck. “He almost hit another tree before the car came to a stop.”

Mr. Kee was extricated from the automobile, which was smoking when investigating officer Jimmy Morgan arrived at the wreck site. “When he approached the car, Morgan noticed the driver laying across the passengers seat unrestrained and unresponsive,” added the Chief.

The Macon County ambulance service carried Mr. Kee to Lafayette, where he was transferred to the helicopter and flown to Vanderbilt.

Officer Morgan obtained warrants on the following charges: DUI, driving on a revoked license, improper passing, financial responsibility, due care, registration violation, possession of a legend drug, and seat belt violation.

First responders included the Red Boiling Springs Police Department, Red Boiling Springs Fire & Rescue, Macon County Sheriffs Office, Macon County EMS, and the Macon County Chronicle.

<< Start < Prev 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 Next > End >>

Page 16 of 206