Join us on Facebook!Follow us on Twitter!

General News
RBS Man Arrested After Anonymous Drug Tip PDF Print E-mail
Written by Jessie Williams   
Wednesday, April 29, 2015

Tyler Dozier

Last Tuesday, April 22, 2015, the Macon County Sheriffs Office received a tip that possible drug activity was going on at 195 Gamaliel Rd. in Red Boiling Springs. 

With the owner’s permission, officers searched the residence with a drug K-9, discovering marijuana, drug paraphernalia and electronic scales believed to be used for selling the Schedule VI drug.

Twenty-two-year-old Tyler Jordan Dozier, who resided at the residence, was charged with simple possession and possession of drug paraphernalia. His bond was set at $1,500. 

Dozier is scheduled to appear in Macon County General Sessions Court on May 6, 2015.

Sunday Morning Fatal Crash PDF Print E-mail
Written by Debbie Gregory   
Tuesday, April 21, 2015


A Gallatin man was killed in a one-vehicle crash early Sunday morning, April 19, on Highway 52 West near the Howell Road intersection, in Macon County.

The victim has been identified as 32-year-old Michael Wayne Freeman, Jr., of Gallatin, Tn. He was traveling alone.

According to the investigating officer, Trooper Tracy Donoho, Freeman was traveling west in a white 2000 Chevy pickup, toward Westmoreland when he crossed the center line, went off the south side of the road and struck a guardrail. “This caused the truck to flip several times and Mr. Freeman was ejected from the vehicle,” said Trooper Donoho. “The crash was reported at 7:22 a.m.”

“The driver was not wearing a seat belt and he was dead at the scene,” added the Trooper.

 Those responding to the crash scene were the Tennessee Highway Patrol, Macon County EMS, Macon County Sheriffs Office, Westmoreland Police, Westmoreland Fire Department, and the Macon County Chronicle.

Macon County High School Evacuated After Written Bomb Threat Discovered PDF Print E-mail
Written by Jessie Williams   
Tuesday, April 21, 2015


While Nashville news channels reported bomb threats at numerous metro schools last week, the report of such a threat here in Macon County recently hit too close to home. 

At approximately 1:40 p.m. on Friday, April 17, 2015, the Macon County Sheriffs Department was notified of the threat at Macon County High School and authorities immediately sprung into action.

According to Macon County Sheriff Mark Gammons, the threat was written on a desk in one of MCHS’s classrooms. 

“At that time, the director of schools was notified and myself and other officers evacuated the school,” Sheriff Gammons said. “The Tennessee Highway Patrol bomb dogs were also called in to do a sweep of the school.”

High school students were transported to Macon County Junior High School and all buses were halted while officers searched the school, collected evidence and conducted interviews.

“Nothing was found at the school and the investigation is ongoing,” the sheriff stated. “We take situations like this very seriously and plan to prosecute the person(s) responsible to the fullest once they are identified.”

Since taking office in 2006, sheriff Gammons says he does not recall a situation like this occurring in Macon County, and believes that there’s a strong possibility that the suspect(s) heard about the recent threats to Nashville schools and copied the crime.

“Making a threat like that, is not a joke,” sheriff Gammons remarked. “This is a very serious crime.”

The sheriff would like to thank all of the officers and emergency responders that aided in the incident and also credits the teachers and school system for handling the threat promptly and getting the students evacuated. 

Smith & Flashner Appear in Court PDF Print E-mail
Written by Debbie Gregory   
Thursday, April 16, 2015

Chelsea M. Smith, age 21, and Latosha Renee Flashner, age 29, appeared in Macon County General Sessions Court last week, for their involvement in a automobile that was stolen from the Minit Mart in Trousdale County in February. They were apprehended and arrested on Thursday, February 26, 2015, in Red Boiling Springs by Police Chief Terry Tuck. 

On February 26, Chief Tuck was patrolling on the Lafayette Road. He had already been notified  of a stolen 2008 Nissan Altima in Trousdale County and also a car tag that had been taken from Sonic in Lafayette, when he observed the vehicle in question sitting at the RBS Market gas pumps. He contacted dispatch to verify the tag number and he determined it was the tag taken from Sonic.

The chief approached the vehicle and it was occupied by two female suspects, Chelsea Smith and Latosha Flashner, and he briefly spoke with them concerning the vehicle. He verified from the VIN number that it was the vehicle that was taken from Trousdale County.

 The two women were detained and Trousdale County was notified. 

Chief Tuck and Officer Kyle Petty, with the Macon County Sheriffs Office, transported the two female suspects to the Macon County Justice Center where they were booked. 

Smith was charged with theft (up to $500) and theft of property ($1,000-$10,000). She also faces several charges from 2014 including possession of a Schedule II drug, possession of a Schedule III drug, possession of drug paraphernalia, public intoxication, and criminal trespass.

Latosha Flashner was charged with theft of property ($1,000-$10,000) and theft (up to $500). She also faces charges from 2014 including evading arrest flight-vehicle, and vehicles /street cars stop at all stop signs.

 The cases against Chelsea Smith and Latosha Flashner have both been continued.

Westside & MCHS: New Principals for 15-16 SY PDF Print E-mail
Written by Jessie Williams   
Tuesday, April 14, 2015

According to the Director’s Report, received at last Thursday night’s Macon County Board of Education meeting, two Macon County principal’s will not be returning to their positions for the 2015-2015 School Year.

Westside Elementary School principal Tonya Wells and Macon County High School principal Stephanie Meador were not re-hired to serve as principals for the upcoming school year. 

According to Macon County Director of Schools Tony Boles, both employees will be transferred to different positions within the Macon County School System.

Boles had no comment on anything further at this time, but did verify that the principal positions would be advertised this week on the school system’s website and candidates will be interviewed in the near future.

All other Macon County school principals (and assistant principals at Macon County High School) were rehired for the 15-16 SY.

<< Start < Prev 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 Next > End >>

Page 17 of 237