Join us on Facebook!Follow us on Twitter!

General Sports
Tigers Participate in Caveland Classic KY Tournament PDF Print E-mail
Monday, December 27, 2010

By: Misty Green

The Macon County High School Tigers Basketball team traveled to Allen County High School in Scottsville, Kentucky to compete in the Caveland Classic Christmas Holiday tournament, December 20-21, 2010.

The Tigers challenged the hosting Allen County team for their first game of the event.

Each team recorded 16 points to open the first quarter of the game, but by halftime, Allen County had slipped past Macon County 25-15, for a halftime advantage, 41-31.

The Tigers dominated the third quarter 15-12, however Allen County flipped the tables in the final period, 15-8, to claim a 68-54 victory over Macon County.

Dallas Grace and Tyler Manning scored 12 points each for Macon County (5-4), followed by Zack Billenstien with eight points, Aaron Carter and Trey McPherson with six points each, Brantley Russell with four points, and Shawn Kemp, Andrew Kempf, and Mic Wise with two points each.

Moving into the consolation round, the MCHS Tigers were paired against South Warren High School on December 21, 2010.

The Tigers opened the challenge with a one point lead over their opponent (10-9), but by halftime, South Warren had jumped ahead of Macon County by a score of 28-20.

The Tigers dominated the third quarter 16-14, but the score left MCHS still trailing 42-36.

South Warren was able to continue their lead throughout the fourth quarter for a 57-49 victory over the Tigers.
Trey McPherson led the Tigers with 13 points, including two 3-pointers, followed by Dallas Grace with 12 points, including two 3-pointers, Zack Billenstien with 10 points, Aaron Carter and Tyler Manning with five points each, and Shawn Kemp with four points.

Playing for the seventh and eight positions in the Caveland Classic Tournament, Macon County was seated next to the Pickett County Bobcats.

Macon County opened the first quarter with an 11-8 lead, which continued throughout halftime, 21-14.

In the final two rounds, the Tigers (6-5) proceeded forward to the victory, and was able to dominate the Bobcats for a final score  of 55-45, and 7th place in the holiday tournament.

Dallas Grace scored 22 points to lead Macon County to victory, followed by Trey McPherson with 11 points, Zack Billenstien and Tyler Manning with nine points each, and Shawn Kemp and Brantley Russell with two points each.

MCHS Tigerettes Slip Past Clay Co., 41-40 PDF Print E-mail
Monday, December 27, 2010

By: Misty Green

The Macon County High School Basketball teams traveled to Celina on December 17, 2010, to face the boys and girls of Clay County.

In the girls game... The heat was on in the last quarter of the challenge, with the Lady Bulldogs narrowing their trail as the final moments ticked away on the game clock. The Tigerettes opened the challenge with a 14-9 lead, and by halftime, Macon County held a 22-14 advantage. Clay County returned in the third quarter to shadow the Tigerettes 33-29.

As time began to expire in the fourth quarter, the Lady Bulldogs were able to claim a 40-39 lead over Macon County. With enough time for one Tigerette possession left in this match. Calamity Jane Coley, waiting under the goal was able to sink her shot with the winning points as the buzzer sounded. Macon County 41, Clay County 40.

Coley led the Tigerettes with ten points, followed by Kailyn Brooks with nine points, Katie Reid and Kelsey Gregory with eight points each, Katelyn Bean with four points, and Terra Pryor with two points.

In the boys game... The Macon County Tigers  (5-3) opened the first quarter with a 14-12 lead, which continued until halftime, 22-21. Returning to the third quarter, Clay County’s Bulldogs (6-1) slipped past the Tigers 30-28, then added 18 points and allowed the  Tigers 13, to claim a 48-41 victory over Macon County.

Dallas Grace recorded 13 points, followed by Zack Billenstien with ten points, Trey McPherson with six points, Tyler Manning with five points, Brantley Russell with four points, Andrew Kempf with two points, and Shawn Kemp with one point.

Ice Put Freeze on RBS Basketball PDF Print E-mail
Monday, December 27, 2010

By: Misty Green

Last week’s deep winter freeze helped to put the Red Boiling Springs High School Friday night basketball action on ice, at least the December 17th games that were scheduled against Pleasant View Christian. This game is expected to be made up sometime in January 2011.

Everyone usually wishes to see a white Christmas, and if those dreams do come true, the Macon County Chronicle hopes that the players, coaches, and every fan travelling to support their favorite basketball teams in the upcoming holiday tournaments, have a very safe journey. Good luck RBS and MCHS!

Lady Bulldogs Route Westmoreland, 62-34 PDF Print E-mail
Monday, December 27, 2010

Remain Unblemished at 11-0

By: Misty Green

The Red Boiling Springs High School Basketball teams hosted Westmoreland on December 10, 2010, and outplayed the Eagles in both challenges for two victories.

The girls’ game was one that fans expected to be a close one, as both teams were unblemished going into this contest.

After four quarters of play, the Lady Bulldogs claimed a 62-34 victory over the undefeated  Lady Eagles (9-1), and achieved an outstanding 11-0 record thus far this season.

RBS’ Layce Colter scored 26 points, including four 3-pointers in the game, followed by Mackenzie Painter with nine points, Marina Evans with six points, Morgan Burgener and Hannah Hollis with five points each, Katie Hix and Kalisha Lynch with four points each, and Mayson Burgener with three points.

In the boys game... The challenge was much closer, as a 25-point tie was shown at the halftime break.
 RBS (8-3) outscored Westmoreland (4-5) 11-7 in the third quarter and 13-5 in the final period to claim a 49-37 win over the Eagles.

Wes Grace scored 19 points to lead the Bulldogs to victory, followed by Allen Kirk with 13 points, Andrew Mullinix with six points, Isaiah Washington and Shelton Watson with five points each, and Jordan Grace with one point.

Undefeated Tigerettes Stand at 9-0 PDF Print E-mail
Monday, December 27, 2010

By: Misty Green

The lady teams of Gordonsville and Hendersonville were no match for the MCHS Tigerettes as they were able to hang on to their undefeated status, adding two more victories.

The Tigerettes routed Gordonsville for the second time this season, 61-32 and was able to rally past Hendersonville, 56-41 on December 14, 2010.

The Tigerettes combined points for the two above games are as follows... Katelyn Bean 23 points, Kailyn Brooks 22 points, Kelsey Gregory 22 points, Katie Reid 15 points, Calamity Jane Coley 14 points, Terra Pryor 10 points, Katie Beth Meador five points, Whitney Wilburn four points, and Michaela Thompson with two points.

<< Start < Prev 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 Next > End >>

Page 79 of 95