Skip to content

Nera White Tournament Action


By Mark Darnell

  Both MCHS and RBS Boy’s teams were to participate in the Nera White Holiday Tournament.

  Macon Faced Memphis Westwood first on Dec. 27th. The Tigers scrapped to a first half lead at 37-34 behind balanced scoring from Manning, McPherson, Grace, Russell, Shrum, Carter, and Clark. The second half was very closely contested but 11 fourth quarter points from McPherson and some great defense proved to be the difference. Final MCHS 74 Westwood 66.

  RBS faced the Blue Devils from Gainesboro. The Bulldogs back court of Francis and French scored 12 points and RBS led 19-16 at the half. The second half was nip-and-tuck until French and Dickens hit back-to-back three pointers which seemed to break the Blue Devil’s will. Final score was RBS 54 JCHS 46.  French chipped in 21 for the Bulldogs.

  Macon would then face Red Boiling Springs. The Tigers jumped out to a halftime lead of 43-12 with eight different scorers. RBS never gave up and played with a great deal of intensity. However, Macon would go on to post the victory by a final of 70-32 behind 16 points from Grace. Dickens was the high scorer from RBS with 9 points.


Next RBS would face Munford in the consolation game. Both teams started slow and at the end of the first RBS trailed 7-15. Swarming defense by Munford held RBS to only 5 more points and at the half the score was Munford 35 RBS 12. Munford grabs the 3rd place finish with a final score of 56-17. Dickens was the high scorer with 6 points.

  Macon faced Unicoi County in the finals. Both teams seemed evenly matched and at the half Unicoi led 42-36. Macon managed to battle back and take the lead at the end of three, 52-51. However, some timely three point shooting and converting 6 of 10 free throws proved to be the difference for Unicoi as they hand the Tigers the loss by a score of 70-62. McPherson led Macon with 18 points.

  Named to the All-Tournament Team were Erin Francis from Red Boiling Springs and Dallas Grace and Trey McPherson from Macon County.