Skip to content

Early Voting Begins Friday!

Cast your early vote Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., Saturday from 8 a.m. until noon and Thursday, July 31, from 8 a.m. until 7 p.m. at the Macon County Election Commission located at 111 East Locust Street in Lafayette.
This election includes the following positions in the Macon County General Election: Chancellor, Circuit Court Judge Division I, Circuit Court Judge Division II, Criminal Court Judge, District Attorney General, Public Defender, County Mayor, County Trustee, Circuit Court Clerk, General Sessions Judge, County Clerk, Sheriff, Register of Deeds, School Board members (Districts 1 & 2 and Districts 3 & 4), Constables (all districts) and County Commissioners (all districts).
Don’t forget to vote for two county commissioners in your district!
Macon County voters will select candidates to fill the following positions in the State Primary Election: Governor, United States Senate, Tennessee Senate, U.S. House of Representatives, Tennessee House of Representatives, State Executive Comitteeman, State Executive Committeewoman. 
If you plan to vote during the Early Voting period, remember to bring identification with you. A voter must have a Federal or Tennessee State government issued photo ID. If no photo identification is provided, the voter will vote a provisional ballot and the voter will have two business days after the election to return to the election commission office and show a valid photo I.D. or the ballot will be rejected. The voter can sign an oath stating he/she is indigent or an oath stating a religious objection to being photographed.
A voter must MEET CERTAIN LEGAL QUALIFICATIONS, in order to vote absentee by mail. A voter desiring to vote absentee by mail, shall in writing over his signature either in person at the Election Commission office, by-mail, or by fax request an application for an absentee ballot. The voter must make the request in writing and include their name (as registered), social security number, date of birth, residence address (911 address), mailing address (if different from residence address), the election(s) they wish to vote in, the reason they are requesting to vote an absentee ballot and their signature. The written request may be received starting May 9th, 2014 and ends on July 31st, 2014. Requests must be mailed to The Macon County Election Commission office, 111 East Locust Street, Lafayette, TN 37083.
For additional information please contact the Election Commission office at 666-2199.
Pages: 1 2