Skip to content

Tri-County Electric Annual Meeting: May 4, 2017

It’s hard to believe another year has come and gone, and once again folks are invited to spend a fun filled evening at Tri-County Electric’s Annual Members Meeting which will be held at Gamaliel Elementary School, in Gamaliel, Kentucky, on Thursday, May 4th, 2017, with registration to begin at 5:30 p.m.

Tri-County has experienced consistent growth over the years and they provide a wide-range of services to the 51,500 members-owners. The corporation currently has 17 substations and over 5,450 miles of distribution line, covering a service area of roughly 1,800 square miles, in all or part of the following counties: Allen, Cumberland, Metcalfe, Monroe, Adair, Barren, Clinton and Warren in Kentucky; and Macon, Clay, Trousdale, Sumner, Jackson, Overton and Smith in Tennessee.

“While annual meetings are required of rural electric cooperatives, including Tri-County Electric, to provide a report to the members, we do our best to make the evening one you and your family will enjoy,” said Paul Thompson, Executive Vice President & General Manager. “In my 16th year as manager, I am excited that one of our members will leave the annual meeting on Thursday night, May 4th, as the proud owner of a Ford F-150 truck!

Thompson said there will be bucket truck rides/safety trailer demo, free t-shirts for kids that they can have their name airbrushed on, an attendance gift for each registered member, free health screenings and Caricaturist Denny Whalen will be available to draw children’s pictures. There will be free food and ice cream, along with Tri-County providing information on their products and services.

“We’ll draw a name from members present when we start the business meeting at 7:00 p.m., for a $100 prize,” said Thompson. “The business meeting will not be lengthy, and when it adjourns there will be drawings for additional prizes, including the Ford truck. Also, two students will win iPads and a technology grant for the school he/she attends.”

The Tri-County Board of Directors include: Ronald D. Bailey, Tony Bentle, Bret Carver, George Cowan, Jeff Downing, Ray Goad, Veachel Harlan, Jack Osgatharp, Mike Miller, Tommy Thompson, Ken Witcher, and Paul Thompson.

“I would like to encourage everyone to come to Gamaliel, Kentucky on Thursday, May 4th, and help us celebrate another wonderful year at Tri-County Electric,” said Thompson. “Few businesses have annual meetings like this one and every customer is invited, because they’re all members-owners, as are our employees and Board of Directors. That’s the way it’s been since Tri-County was founded in 1936!”

Employees, directors, and those living in their households will not be eligible for prizes.