Skip to content

Over 1,000 Attend Tri-County Electric’s Annual Meeting

Rain didn’t stop over 1,000 people from attending Tri-County Electric’s Annual Meeting at Gamaliel Elementary School in Gamaliel, Kentucky on Thursday, May 4, 2017!


After Jeff Downing, Director of District F, welcomed everyone to the meeting, the Gamaliel Elementary School Beta Club led the audience in the Pledge of Allegiance.  Jonah Beasley sang a beautiful rendition of our National Anthem followed by the Invocation from Brother Jeremy Yokley of Bible Way Missionary Baptist Church. Paul Thompson, Executive Vice-President and General Manager of Tri-County Electric, introduced business and political leaders as well as TVA and other Tri-County Electric partners. David Callis, Executive Vice-President and General Manager of the Tennessee Electric Cooperative Association, and Chris Perry, President of the Kentucky Association of Electric Cooperatives, addressed the members during the business meeting.

Executive Vice President and General Manager Paul Thompson thanked the members for their attendance and support of Tri-County Electric.  He reported on Tri-County Electric’s strong financial position and the fact that as a local member-owned cooperative the revenue generated is reinvested through system upgrades, maintenance and expansions.

 Many members took advantage of free blood pressure checks and information provided by Monroe County Medical Center and information booths were also set-up by TVA, the Kentucky Association of Electric Cooperatives (KAEC) and UK Extension. Denny Whalen and Robert & Beth Hollingsworth were very popular and busy; Denny as the Caricaturist and Robert & Beth airbrushing names on the free T-shirts given to children.

The safety trailer demonstration was rained out, but lots of people took advantage of periods between the rain to take bucket truck rides!

Numerous door prizes were awarded during the evening’s activities, including the Grand Prize Ford F-150 4×4 pick-up truck won by member-owner Connie Duvall of Burkesville, Kentucky. Tri-County Electric’s logo was displayed on the auto emergency kits given to members at registration and, as mentioned earlier, each child was given a Tri-County Electric T-shirt.  Free refreshments were provided for everyone.  

Principal Kathy Taylor was very kind in allowing Tri-County Electric to utilize the school facilities.  A very special thanks to Jessica McPherson, Assistant Principal; Sylvia Ford, Cafeteria Manager; Angela Watson, Cafeteria Assistant; Alisha Rich and Jerry Capshaw, Custodians; and GES Beta Club for serving!

Dawn Emberton of Tompkinsville, Kentucky was the winner of the $100 drawing to begin the meeting. In an odd coincidence, brothers Zander and Parker Watson, sons of Randy and Angela Watson of Tompkinsville, Kentucky were the winners of the iPads and also won $500 “Technology Grants” for their schools (Tompkinsville Elementary School and Monroe County High School and respectively). 

As required by the TCEMC bylaws, a meeting of the Board of Directors was held immediately following the Annual Meeting.  Officers elected were President, Jeff Downing, District F; Vice-President, Tony Bentle, District W; Secretary-Treasurer, Ray Goad, District L.