Skip to content

Early Voting in Full Swing for County Primary & Lafayette City Election

By Jessie Williams

Early voting is in full swing for the May 1, 2018 Macon County Primary and Lafayette City Election. 


As of press time, 941 early votes, 13 absentee and 21 property rights votes have been cast. 

Republican and Democratic candidates squaring off in the Macon County Primary election are as follows. Independent candidates will not run in the primary election but will be on the ballot on Election Day – August 2, 2018. 

Macon County Republican Primary 

County Mayor: Steve Jones

County Commissioner, District 1 (vote for 2): Phillip Snow (incumbent)

County Commissioner, District 2 (vote for 2): Scott Gammons (incumbent); Mike Jenkins (incumbent)

County Commissioner, District 3 (vote for 2): No candidate qualified

County Commissioner, District 4 (vote for 2): Justin Dyer (incumbent); Mchelle Phillips (incumbent)

County Commissioner, District 5 (vote for 2): No candidate qualified 

County Commissioner, District 6 (vote for 2): Stephanie Lamb; Michael Slayton

County Commissioner, District 7 (vote for 2): James Lamb

County Commissioner, District 8 (vote for 2): Duane Knoblett

County Commissioner, District 9 (vote for 2): Wendell T. Jones (incumbent)

County Commissioner, District 10 (vote for 2): Helen Hesson (incumbent)

County Trustee: Derrick Dickens; Kim Bohanan Parks; Crystal Swindle

County Sheriff: William “Butch” Avera; Mark A. Brawner

Circuit Court Clerk: Rick Gann (incumbent)

County Clerk: Dakota Tucker Dyer

Register of Deeds: Cynthia J. Jones (incumbent); Sherry Brawner Tucker

Constable District 1-2: No candidate qualified 

Constable District 3-4: No candidate qualified

Constable District 5-6: No candidate qualified

Constable District 7-8: No candidate qualified

Constable District 9-10: No candidate qualified

Macon County Democratic Primary

No candidates qualified for any positions 

City of Lafayette City Council (Vote for 3 candidates)

Seth Blankenship

Tom Roberts

Steve Turner (incumbent)

Jerry Wilmore 

Jerry Wix (incumbent)

Tim Wooten

The early voting period began on Wednesday, April 11 and extends through Thursday, April 26. 

Early voting is held at the Macon County Election Commission office located at 607 Hwy 52 Bypass E, Suite C, in Lafayette. An ID is required to participate in the early voting process. 

Early voting hours are as follows: 

Monday – Friday, 8 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.

Saturdays, 8 a.m. – noon

Thursday, April 26 – 8 a.m. – 7 p.m.

For more information contact the Macon County Election Commission office at 615-666-7469.