Skip to content

Macon 5-6 grade boys compete at Haile State Tournament

The Macon County 5th-6th grade boys basketball team advanced to the finals of the James C Haile State basketball tournament this past week. The Haile tournament is celebrating 50 years and is the oldest middle school basketball tournament in Tennessee.

Macon County middle school teams have won state titles at this tournament three times. The girls won in 2011 and 2015 and the boys won in 2015 as well. The Tournament is held on the campus of Middle Tennessee Christian in Murfreesboro.

The first game of the tournament for Macon was against Walter J Baird out of Lebanon on Saturday Jan 27th. Macon jumped out to a 7-0 lead after the first quarter. WJB came roaring back and cut the lead to two trailing 11-13 at the break.

The Tigers would outscore WJB 15-13 in the second half to get a close hard-fought victory by a final score of 28-24.

Scoring was: Camden Haehl 20 points, Jon Luke Borders 5, Colten Barlow 1, and Xander Young 2. Thomas Troutt, Hootie Oliver, and Cooper Keene played but did not score.

Next up Macon would face Watertownon Tuesday Jan 30th. This was a totally lopsided game with Coach Tara Haile emptying the bench. The Tigers got the win by a score of 57-17.

Scoring was: Haehl 8, Barlow 14, Young 2, Borders 6, Oliver 2, Troutt 10, Keene 2, Cole Vester 2, Carter Shouse 2, and Bentley Gregory 6. Brody Wohlgamuth, Colby Neely, Boston Jefferies, Mason Rich, and Noel Wilmore all played but did not score.

This set up a final game against the Mt. Juliet Bears on Thursday Feb 1. The Bears were bigger, taller, and overall more athletic than the Tigers. This resulted in a struggle to score for Macon. Mt. Juliet led 34-14 at halftime. Eventually the game would end with a running clock in the fourth quarter. The Bears win by a score of 55-26.

Scoring was: Haehl 12, Barlow 3, Oliver 9, and Shouse 1. Young, Borders, Troutt, Vester, Keene, Wohlgamuth, Neeley, Gregory, Jefferies, Beasley, Rich, and Wilmore all played but did not score.

Haehl and Oliver were named to the All-Tournament team for the Tigers.