Macon County Chronicle

Chronicle Receives 11 Tennessee Press Association Awards

The staff of the Macon County Chronicle is proud to announce that the publication and its writers/designers have received seven awards in the Tennessee Press Association’s (TPA) 2010 Ideas Contest and four awards in the UT-TPA 2010 State Press Contest.

The 2009 Tennessee Press Association State Press Contest, co-sponsored by the University of Tennessee since 1940, received a total of 1,468 contest entries from 76 association papers.

Contest awards are given in five categories based on average weekly circulation, including small and large daily and non-daily papers. The Illinois Press Association judged the contest submissions and winners of the 2010 UT-TPA State Press Contests Awards were announced at a luncheon on Friday, July 16 at the Embassy Suites Nashville Airport Hotel. First through fifth place winners are awarded in the State Press Contest.

The contest judges journalists, editors, designers and publishers on factors such as story content, composition, subject matter, impact, coverage, general appearance, illustrations, headlines, graphics and persuasiveness for each submission.

Judges comments are also written and returned with each category submission.

This year, the Chronicle took home the second place title for ‘Public Service,’ second place for ‘Best Single Editorial,’ third place for ‘Best Headline Writing,’ and fifth place in ‘Make-Up & Appearance.’

Along with the awards given to the Chronicle in the State Press Contest, individual awards were given to the reporter(s) who wrote or contributed to the submitted stories.

Below, are the awards received by Chronicle, the reporter(s) who were recognized, a synopsis of the winning entries and judge comments.


2009 University of Tennessee – Tennessee Press Association State Press Contest Winning Entries:


1. Public Service – Second Place – Lisa Spivey & Debbie Gregory – (Tornado: one year later)


2. Best Single Editorial – Second Place – Jessie Ellefson – (From the Editor’s Desk)

Judge Comment: “Bravo for standing up to the attempted bullying and for holding your ground on how a newspaper serves its community!”


3. Headline Writing – Third Place – Jessie Ellefson & Debbie Gregory – (Peace on Earth, Goodwill Towards Men)


4. Make-Up & Appearance – Fourth Place – Kathryne Belle, Cherry Cole, Jessie Ellefson, Lisa Spivey, Misty Gammons, Tammy Dozier & Debbie Gregory


The Tennessee Press Association Ideas Contest, established in 1978, is an annual competition for advertising and circulation departments.

The 2010 Ideas Contest has 27 categories, each divided into five circulation divisions (two for non-dailies and three for dailies). Only first, second and third place winners were awarded. Members of the Illinois Press Association judged the contest on March 12 in Springfield, Ill., where a total of 871 entries from 35 newspapers were submitted in the 2010 Ideas Contest.

The awards were presented on Friday, April 16, in conjunction with the Advertising/Circulation Conference in Chattanooga, Tenn.

The Chronicle received first place in the ‘Subscription Promotion Idea’ category, second in the ‘Best Reader Contest’ and ‘Best Feature Page or Pages’ divisions and third place in the ‘Best Real Estate Ad,’ ‘Best Rack Card,’ ‘Best Reader Contest’ and ‘Best Classified Section’ divisions:


Tennessee Press Association 2010 Ideas Contest - Macon County Chronicle Winning Entries:

1. Best Real Estate Ad – First Place

2. Best Special Section – First Place

3. Best Rack Card – First Place

4. Best Reader Contest – Second Place

5. Best Rack Card – Second Place

6. Best Feature Page or Pages – Second Place

7. Best Rack Card – Third Place


The Macon County Chronicle commends its staff for their hard work, creativity and dedication and congratulates them on another year of success and well-deserved journalistic recognition.

The staff would also like to extend its appreciation for the support and loyalty of its readers and advertisers through the years, thanks to you we are able to participate and compete in these distinguished contests each year. It is our privilege to serve you and the community we so love.