Macon County Chronicle

Gammons, Ferguson & Linville Claim Victory

The State Primary and Macon County General Election reached it’s climax on Thursday, August 5th, 2010, and after several hotly contested races at the local level, which have absorbed much of the attention this summer, Mark Gammons, Shelvy Linville, and Melinda Ferguson were victors once again, reclaiming their offices for four more years.

Despite high interest, out of 13,551 registered voters, only 5,398 voted unofficially, for a 39.83 percentage of Macon Countians that utilized their right to decide on who fills the offices here in our county and the State of Tennessee.

Early voting has gained increasing popularity, with 3,507 absentee or early votes cast by Saturday, July 31st, and 1,891 voters went to the polls on Election Day. There was virtually “no waiting” to vote at any of the ten precincts in Macon County.

According to Election Administrator Tammy Smith, the unofficial results are as follows:

Incumbent Mark Gammons easily won the race to retain the office of Macon County Sheriff, with a vote of 3,472 to the 1,786 ballots cast for his opponent Republican Party candidate Terry Tuck.

Incumbent Republican Melinda K. Ferguson won the bid for Register of Deeds with 2,966 votes, while her opponents Dianne Cline received 1,726 votes and a total of 490 votes were cast for Chuck Wilmore.

Winning the County Mayor seat, was Incumbent Independent Shelvy Linville with 2,510 votes to the 2,117 cast for Democratic opponent Dean Sircy and 537 for Republican nominee Malcolm Lane.

In other county races: County Commissioner 1st District winner was Shannon Wix, who was unopposed, with 202 votes. Winning the County Commissioner 2nd District seat was Chris Wix with a vote of 104 to the 49 votes cast for David Brewington and 42 to Barry W. Carter. County Commissioner 3rd District winner was Kenneth Witte with 96 votes and 79 to Gary Dell Worrell, Jr.; 4th District winner was Jeff Hughes with 137. In the 5th District race Todd Doss, who had 120 votes, defeated Billy West with 102; Phillip Snow was elected 6th District Commissioner with 201 votes; Jerry Ray was elected to the 7th district seat with 226 votes; and Scott Gammons with 233 won the 8th district seat. Larry B. Tucker was elected as 9th District Commissioner with a vote of 158 to Warren Carver’s 99. Michelle Phillips won the 10th district seat with 187 votes; 11th District went to Bryan Carter with 101 to the 62 cast for Timothy L. Keith; 12th District Tony Boles with 207 votes; 13th District Anthony Bullington won with 158 votes to Chris Grant’s 117. Ronald Morey was elected 14th District Commissioner with 104 votes; 15th District winner was Ronnie McDuffee with 144 votes to 77 cast for Ray Amalfitano. Winning the 16th District Commissioner seat was Helen Hesson with 258 votes to 177 cast for Bruce Dyer; Windell Jones, who garnered 168 votes beat out Tommy Napier with 128 and Dewayne Mee with 11. Winning the 18th District seat was Dewayne Whittemore with 179; 19th District winner was Benton Bartley with 175 votes; and Rosetta Driver won the 20th District Commissioner seat with 68 votes.

Winning the School Board seat for Districts 5, 8, 9 & 10 was Billy A. Wilmore with 556 votes to the 536 cast for Wayne Marsh and Incumbent Jimmy Cook garnered 613 votes to opponent Brian Long’s 523.

In the Constable race for Districts 1, 2, 11 & 20 Rick Nobel won that seat with 409 votes to Keith Crook’s 198. The 3, 4, 15 & 16 District Constable seat was won by Barry Newberry with 791 votes and Charles Dallas won the District 5, 8, 9 & 10 race with 730 votes. Winning the Constable race for Districts 6, 7, 12 & 19 was Sammy Morgan with 619 votes to the 345 votes that were cast for Loyd Hix and David Gunter won the 13, 14, 17 & 18 District Constable race with 599 votes.

Winning the City Council seat was Marcus Smith with 525 votes to 433 cast for his opponent John Tom Roberts. Incumbent County Trustee Diane Cook received 3875 votes; Incumbent Circuit Court Clerk Rick Gann received 4106 votes; and Incumbent County Clerk James Ralph Howser received 4421 votes to round out the county elections.

In the state primaries the locally interesting race was for the Democratic and Republican nominations for Congress and the State Senate. Republican Diane Black, who received the state nomination for the 6th Congressional District with an unofficial 23,4368 votes, garnered 1031votes here in Macon County against opponents Jim Tracy with 904 votes and 997 that were cast for Lou Ann Zelenik. Brett Carter, who received 227 votes in Macon County, won the Democratic nomination for the 6th Congressional District with 8,672 votes against the 8,514 votes that were cast for Henry Barry. Democrat James C. Hale defeated Jamie Winkler here in Macon County with a vote of 576 to 429 and Republican Terri Lynn Weaver received 2780 votes. In the State Senate primary Republican Mae Beavers with 13,366 votes will face Democratic nominee George McDonald, who received 6,449 votes, in the November General Election and Mike McWherter who accepted the Democratic nomination for Governor, will face off against Republican nominee Knoxville Mayor Bill Haslam.