Macon County Chronicle

Qualifying Deadline for RBS Election: Noon, Jan. 20th

The deadline for candidates to qualify for the April 23, 2011 City of Red Boiling Springs Election, to elect a City Mayor and three City Council members, has been set for noon on Thursday, January 20th. Candidates for Mayor will vie for the position currently held by City Mayor Kenneth Hollis and candidates for city council will fill the open seats created by the term expiration of current council members Terry Newberry, Steve Newberry and Bobby Etheridge.

As of press time on Monday, January 10th, qualifying papers have been picked up by mayoral candidates Ralph Wheaton, Bobby Etheridge and Don Staffey and City Council candidates Joe Hill, incumbent Terry Newberry, Tom Fultz and George McCrary. Candidates who have returned their qualifying papers, as of Monday, are mayoral hopeful Ralph Wheaton and City Council candidate incumbent Terry Newberry.

Red Boiling Springs residents interested in running in the 2011 City Election may pick up qualifying papers at the Macon County Election Commission, located at 111E. Locust St. in Lafayette, and must meet the following qualifications:

  • At least 21 years of age.
  • A resident in the City of Red Boiling Springs, TN, for at least one year preceding the election.
  • No person shall become mayor or council member who has been convicted of a crime involving moral turpitude.
  • Candidates shall be permitted to file a nominating petition for only one office in any general city election.
  • A mayor or council member who files a nominating petition for a mayor or commissioner member position other than his own, and whose own position is not up for re-election, must resign his current position as mayor or commissioner at least 30 days prior to the filing deadline for nominating petitions for the next general city election.

The elected Red Boiling Springs Mayor serves a term of two years and City Council members serve four-year terms.

Important dates for the RBS April 23rd City Election include:

  • January 20, 2011: Last day to file qualifying petition
  • January 27, 2011 (noon): Withdrawal deadline
  • February 19, 2011: Last day to file Statement of Interest with Ethics Commission
  • March 24, 2011: Last day to register to vote
  • April 4, 2011 – April 18, 2011: Early voting in the Election Office (8 a.m. – 4 p.m., 8 a.m. – noon on Saturdays and late night voting available until 7 p.m. on April 18th)
  • April 16, 2011: Last day a by-mail request can be processed
  • April 23, 2011: Election Day

 Voter qualifications for the RBS April 23, 2011 City Election, include:

  • Any person who is a resident of the City of Red Boiling Springs and who has registered to vote prior to March 24, 2011.
  • Any non-resident who has owned taxable real property in the City for six months immediately preceding the election and has registered to vote under that same property prior to March 24, 2011.
  • Only two persons can be registered to vote on the same property for non-resident voters.

 For more information, contact the Macon County Election Commission at 666-2199.