Macon County Chronicle

Early Voting to Kick-Off May 10

Lafayette citizens will get a chance to vote for Mayor of the city this year, as well as three seats on the city council.

The council seats currently held by Loryn Atwell, Tim Morgan, and Jerry Wix will all be up for grabs this year.

Running for the three open seats will be Loryn Atwell, Richard Bransford, Robert Hodges, Steve Turner, and Jerry Wix. Jerry Wix, whose name does not appear on the ballot due to tornado-related delays, will run as a write-in candidate for his own council seat. Councilman Tim Morgan decided not to run for re-election this year.

Early voting will begin on Friday, May 9 and end at noon on Saturday, May 24. The election commission will be open for early voting on Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. – 4:30 p.m., and on Saturdays (May 10, 17, and 24) from 8 a.m. till noon.

The regular election will be held on Saturday, May 29 at Lafayette City Hall from 9 a.m. till 7 p.m.

“Voting isn’t free,” Election Commissioner Diane Cline reminds voters. “Our tax dollars pay for this office; and our veterans paid for our voting rights. It’s heartening to see a good turnout for an election.”

Mayor Wells won the seat in the 2004 election with only 417 votes, out of a Lafayette City population of nearly 4,000, Cline reported.