Macon County Chronicle

Early Voting for RBS Election Begins April 4th

Early Voting for the April 23, 2011 Red Boiling Springs Election will take place at the Macon County Election Commission office, located at 111 East Locust Street, beginning Monday, April 4th, and ending Monday, April 18th. Early voters will be able to cast their ballots for a City Mayor and three City Council members Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. until 4 p.m. and Saturdays (April 9th & April 16th) from 8 a.m. until noon.

Adding a convenient alternative to the regular early voting hours, there will also be late night voting hours on Monday, April 18th, when the Election Commission will be open for voters until 7 p.m.

If someone misses the early voting period they will have to vote on Election Day on April 23rd at City Hall in Red Boiling Springs. The hours for the poll will be 9:00 a.m. until 7:00 p.m.

“Early voting makes it easier on those voters who have not updated their registrations since moving or marriage,” said Macon County Administrator of Elections Tammy Smith. “If the voter waits until Election Day, more paperwork is required when voting than if they come into the Election Commission office. Changes can be made on the computer and verified while early voting making it much more convenient and easier for the voter as well.”

Smith also recommended early voting because of the long lines that are usually formed on Election Day.

“Early voting has become a popular choice of voting. Early voting is usually not as busy as Election Day either,” she said. “Since there are so many days for voting in the early voting period, the lines aren’t long and people can usually go through the whole voting process in a matter of a few minutes. I would encourage the citizens that are eligible to vote in the City of Red Boiling Springs election to come and early vote starting April 4th.”

Those vying for the position of City Mayor are Ralph Wheaton (qualified 1/3/2011), Bobby Etheridge (qualified 1/20/2011) and Don Staffey (qualified 1/14/2011). In the race for city council are candidates Joe Hill (qualified 1/20/2011), incumbent Terry Newberry (qualified 1/10/2011), George McCrary (qualified 1/14/2011), Tom Fultz (qualified 1/19/2011) and Joseph L. Rearden (qualified 1/18/2011).