Early voting for the May 3rd City of Lafayette Election began last Friday, April 13th and will be conducted at the Macon County Election Commission Office, located at 111 East Locust St., through Saturday, April 28th.

Eligible voters participating in the City Election will cast their ballots for a City Mayor and three City Council members.

Vying for the position of City Mayor are J.Y. Carter (incumbent), Richard F. Driver and John Keller. On the ballot for City Council are Loryn Atwell (incumbent), Richard Bransford (incumbent), Pam Cothron, Ron Morey, Tom Roberts and Roger Russell.

Early voting hours are as follows:

Monday through Friday - 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

Saturdays (April 14, 21 & 28) – 8 a.m. to noon

Thursday, April 26 – (late night) 8 a.m. to 7 p.m.

All voters who vote by personal appearance must provide a government issued photo ID in order to cast their ballots. If no photo ID is provided, the voter will cast a provisional ballot and will have two business days after the election to return to the election commission office and show a valid ID or the ballot will be rejected.

A registered voter unable to vote by personal appearance may vote absentee by mail if the voter meets certain legal qualifications. Applications for absentee ballots can be requested in person at the Macon County Election Commission or by mail. To make a request by mail, a voter must make the request in writing and include their name, social security number, date of birth, residence address, mailing address (if different from residence address), the election they wish to vote in, the reason they are requesting to vote an absentee ballot and their signature.

All written requests must be received by April 26th.

“I encourage everyone to take advantage of the Early Voting period and get out and vote,” said Macon County Administrator of Elections Barry Doss. “It’s a great way to avoid waiting in line on Election Day.”

Early voting totals so far in this race, as of press time, are as follows:

3/1/12 thru 4-12/12 – 11 voters

Friday, April 13 – 42 voters

Saturday, April 14 – 9 voters

Monday, April 16 – 30 voters

On Election Day, May 3rd, voting will take place inside the new City Council chambers at the Lafayette City Hall.

For additional information, contact the Election Commission Office at 666-2199.