Macon County Chronicle

Early Voting for State & Federal General Election Begins Oct. 17

Article Index

Those participating in the early voting period can cast their votes Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. until 4:30 p.m., Saturday (October 20th & 27th) from 8 a.m. until noon or November 1st from 8 a.m. until 7 p.m.

Macon County Administrator of Elections Barry Doss urges everyone to take advantage of the early voting period.

“Early Voting is open to all registered voters and is fast, convenient, easy, but most of all does not limit voting to just one day,” he stated. “Over 4700 votes were cast in the 2008 Presidential Election during early voting at the Macon County Election Commission.”

All voters must have a government issued photo ID in order to vote during the early voting period. If no photo ID is presented, the voter will vote on a provisional ballot and will have two business days after the election to return to the election commission office and show a valid photo ID or the ballot will be rejected.

“Do not forget you will need a Photo ID to Early Vote and to vote on Election Day,” Doss urges.

A registered voter unable to vote by personal appearance may vote absentee by mail if the voter meets certain legal qualifications. Applications for absentee ballots can be requested in person at the Macon County Election Commission or by mail. To make a request by mail, a voter must make the request in writing and include their name, social security number, date of birth, residence address, mailing address (if different from residence address), the election they wish to vote in, the reason they are requesting to vote an absentee ballot and their signature.

All written requests must be received between August 8th and October 30, 2012.

Macon County voters voting in the November 6th State & Federal Election will elect a United States President/Vice President, a member of the United States Senate, a member of the United States House of Representatives (6th Congressional District) and a member of the Tennessee House of Representatives (38th Representative District).

Candidates for United States President include Republican Party nominee Mitt Romney (Paul Ryan for Vice President), Democratic Party nominee and Incumbent Barack Obama (Joe Biden for Vice President), Constitution Party nominee Virgil Goode (Jim Clymer for Vice President), Green Party nominee Jill Stein (Cheri Honkala for Vice President) and Independent candidates Ross C. “Rocky” Anderson (Luis J. Rodriquez for Vice President), Gary Johnson (James P. Gray for Vice President) and Merlin Miller (Virginia D. Abernathy for Vice President).

Candidates for United States Senate include Republican Party nominee & Incumbent Bob Corker, Democratic Party Nominee Mark E. Clayton, Constitution Party nominee Kermit Steck, Green Party nominee Martin Pleasant and Independent candidates Shaun E. Crowell, David Gatchell, James Higdon, Michel Joseph Long and Troy Stephen Scoggin.

Candidates for United States House of Representatives 6th Congressional District include Republican Party nominee & Incumbent Diane Black, Green Party nominee Pat Riley and Independent candidate Scott Beasley.

Macon County voters will also elect Republican Party nominee Kelly Keisling or Democratic Party nominee David Harper for a seat in the Tennessee House of Representatives (38th Representative District).   

The Macon County Election Commission office is located at 111 East Locust St. in Lafayette. For more information contact the Macon County Election Commission office at (615) 666-2199.