Macon County Chronicle

County Votes Are In: 3,084 Voters Choose Officials

When all votes were in and counted, the closest race of the August 7 election turned out to be one for a seat on the school board, representing Districts 1, 2, 11, and 20. Ronald Birdwell won that seat by just four votes; with his opponent Mark Sircy receiving 194, Birdwell getting 198. Birdwell fills the seat vacated by Diana Carter. Incumbent Stephen Walton kept his seat, representing Districts 13, 14, 17, and 18, with a 175 vote lead over Quinn Marlow. Walton got 353 votes for his position. John Wheeley was chosen to fill the seat vacated by Mike Marshall, with 306 votes as opposed to Chuck Sandifer’s 201.

The race for Road Supervisor was won by Audie Cook, who received 43.87% of the total vote. Cook got 1313 votes to incumbent Chop Porter’s 1034. The remaining 646 were split between Jerry Ray (566) and Kenny Patterson (80).

Incumbent Assessor of Property Rick Shoulders will keep his seat, voters decided, by getting 1918 votes to Jeff Hughes 1036.

Benton Bartley, who ran unopposed for his District 19 set on the County Commission, got 100% of the 57 votes that were cast for that position.

In the State Primary, Macon County democrats chose Bart Gordon to represent them in the U.S. House of Representatives, District 6. Gordon also won in the other14 counties that are represented by that seat. Gordon received 99.89% of the 929 votes cast here in the county, and a total of 21,752 statewide. Gordon will run in November against Steven L. Edmonson, who received three write-in votes in Macon County, and a total of 721 votes in the District.

Gary G. Davis was chosen by democrats in Macon County to represent them in the U.S. Senate, with 154 of the total 527 votes cast. However, Robert D. Tuke beat Davis at the State level by receiving 58,990 - or 32.2% - of total democrat votes. Tuke will face off against Lamar Alexander, who received the lion’s share of republican votes for that same office; getting 1,080 of the 1,084 votes cast in the county, and 24,396 votes in the district. The remaining votes were write-ins.

Dean Sircy won the democratic vote for Tennessee House of Representatives, 40th District, here in Macon County. Sircy got 729 of the total 1,180 votes, with Sarah Marie Smith coming in second for that race with 163 votes. Terri Lynn Weaver was chosen by republicans for the same seat, with 748 of the 1,190 votes cast.

In the district, however, Sircy lost to Cleveland Derrick Bain. Bain got 1,200 votes, 27.2% of the total democrat vote in the 40th District. Bain will face republican Terri Lynn Weaver in the November election. Weaver got 78.5% of the republican vote in the 40th District, a total of 1,964.

The November election will be held on Tuesday, November 4th. Put simply, voters will then choose between:

•Bart Gordon (D) and Steven L. Edmonson (R) for the 6th District 6 U.S. House of Representatives seat

•Robert D. Tuke (D) and Lamar Alexander (R) for the U.S. Senate

•Cleveland Derrick Bain (D) and Terri Lynn Weaver (R) for the 40th District Tennessee House of Representatives seat

•Barrack Obama (D) and John McCain (R) for U.S. President