Macon County Chronicle

Macon County Voter Registration Deadline Oct. 6th

The last day to register to vote in the November 4th U.S, Presidential election is quickly approaching, with Monday October 6th, as the deadline in Macon County.

Soon to follow, early voting will begin on October 15th and will continue through October 30th.

Democratic nominees on the ballot for President and Vice President are Barack Obama and Joe Biden with John McCain and Sarah Palin as the Republican nominees.  

Six independent candidates for President and Vice President share the ballot: Bob Barr and Wayne Root, Charles Jay and Thomas L. Knapp, Cynthia McKinney and Rosa Clemente, Brian Moore and Stewart Alexander, Ralph Nader and Matt Gonzalez.

In the race for United States Senate is Robert D. Tuke, (Democrat) and Incumbent Lamar Alexander (Republican).

Six Independents are also competing : Edward L. Buck, Christopher G. Fenner, David Gatchell, Ed Lawhorn, Daniel Towers Lewis, and Chris Lugo.  

Incumbent Bart Gordon (Democrat) will go up against Independent candidate Chris Baker for the United States House of Representatives for the 6th Congressional District.

In the race for Tennessee House of Representatives for the 40th Representative district, Cleveland Bain (Democrat) will challenge Terri Lynn Weaver (Republican ) as well as Independent candidate Ray Amalfitano.