Macon County Chronicle

Qualifying Deadline Approaching for 2009 RBS Election

The January 15th qualifying deadline is quickly approaching for the Red Boiling Springs mayoral and city council member election on Saturday, April 25, 2009.

Early voting for the election, which will seat three city council members and a city mayor, is scheduled for April 6th through April 20th.

As of Monday, December 29th, only one candidate for city mayor, current city council member Ray Bilbrey, has obtained the required qualifying papers in the race for city mayor. No one has picked up qualifying papers to vie for a city council seat.

The three open city council seats will replace Lawrence Hollis and Shelly Dean, who were appointed to finish out the terms of previous city council members Billy Whitley and Jimmy Neil Roark, and Ray Bilbrey, whose term is up this election.

Qualifying papers for candidates can be picked up at the Macon County Election Commission Office located at 111 E. Locust St. in Lafayette.