Macon County Chronicle

Election Commission Votes to Replace Administrator of Elections Dianne Cline

The Macon County Election Commission met for its regular monthly meeting Monday, April 20, voting to replace Macon County Administrator of Elections Dianne Cline with Tammy Smith.

The vote, which first resulted in a tie (GeorgiaAnn Boles & Henry Polston voting for Cline to be reinstated and Jacki Cook & Kenny Kemp voting to elect Tammy Smith), was broken by Chairman Glen Donoho, who voted in Smith’s favor.

After the vote, Cline was asked by the commission to remain on as deputy clerk in order to assist Smith, to which she declined. Alecia King was also asked to stay on as deputy, to which she too, declined.

Before the vote to dismiss Cline and elect Smith, the commission’s first order of business involved electing the group’s new Republican Party Chairman. The motion was made by Cook to elect Glen Donoho, which was seconded by Kemp.

Chairman Donoho then opened nominations for a Democratic Party Secretary. GeorgiaAnn Boles was nominated for the position by Kenny Kemp and the motion was seconded by Cook.  

Commission members also discussed the Red Boiling Springs City Election, which will be held Saturday, April 25, from 9 a.m. until 7 p.m.

The Election Commission will meet before the election on April 24th at 3:30 p.m. at RBS City Hall for School of Instruction and after the election on April 30th at 4 p.m. to certify the city election.

The next Macon County Election Commission meeting is scheduled for May 18th at 4 p.m.