Macon County Chronicle

Macon XC at Ryan Burnett

The MCHS and MCJHS Cross Country teams participated in the 17th Annual Ryan Burnett Memorial Invitational located at Cookeville High School on Saturday Oct. 1, 2011.

  Ryan Burnett passed away on Sept. 14, 1995, from an enlarged heart that caused him to collapse during cross country practice. Cookeville High School coach Bill Wrasman and his team rallied from the loss and dedicated the annual invitational they host to Ryan, and it has been a traditional event that everyone on the team and community takes pride in hosting.

  The MCHS girls finished 2nd overall with 59 points. Times were: Katie Swindle(2nd) with a time of 20:42, Katie Hix(4th) at 21:40, Logan Hernandez (14th) at 22:36 and a personal record(PR), Jasmine Chaparro (26th) at 24:23, Daisy McClanahan (30th) at 24:41 and a PR, Taylor Stafford (44th) at 27:16, and Jena Dziekiewicz (45th) at 27:19.

  The MCHS boys finished in sixth place overall with 184 points. Times were: Andrew Emberton (1st Place) with a time of 17:24, Ryan Avera (40th) at 19:29 and a PR, Jorden Kemp (43rd) at 19:33, Dylan Meador (59th) at 20:16, Jeff Maynard (63rd) at 21:04, and Dylan Sexton (72nd) 22:20.

  Both Jr. High teams finished second in the meet, and most of the runners turned in their personal best times.  MCJHS will run in the region meet on Saturday, October 8 at 10:00 and 10:30.

 The girls' team finished second with a team total of fifty-four points. Cookeville won the meet with a score of sixteen, and T.W. Hunter finished third with a score of sixty-seven.  Maddy Miller finished fifth with a time of 15:14.0 (a personal record).  Angela Whisenhunt finished eighth with a time of 15:40.0  (season best).  Alyssa Whisenhunt finished eleventh with a time of 15:59.0 (PR).  Bethany Graves finished fifteenth with a time of 16:21.0 (season best).  Jessica Seehafer finished thirty-fifth with a time of 20:00.0 (season best). McCayla McClard finished thirty-sixth with a time of 22:07.0 (PR), and Karla Whisenhunt finished thirty-seventh with a time of 22:42.0 (PR).

 The boys' team finished second with a team total of thirty-nine.  Cookeville won the meet with a total of nineteen points,and T. W. Hunter finished third with a total of seventy-one.  Oakland, Clarksville, and Overton County did not have enough runners in the event, so they could not score as a team.  Carson Cunningham finished  fourth with a time of 13:07.0 (PR).  Connor Chaparro finished sixth  with a time of 13:0.9. (PR).  Grant Towns finished seventh with a time of 13:16.0 (PR).  Isaac Wakefield finished eleventh with a time of 14:08.0 (PR).  Parker Smith finished thirteenth with a time of 14:09.0 (PR).  Cole Dziekiewicz finished twenty-second with a time of 15:08.0.  Jacob Sewell finished twenty-fifth with a time of 15:21.0 (PR).  Eric Davis finished twenty-eighth with a time of 16:15.0 (PR).  Gavin Lamb finished thirty-fifth with a time of 16:47.0 (PR), and Kannon West finished fortieth with a time of 21:29.0 (season best).