Skip to content

Four Inducted into RBS Football Hall of Fame


Four new members were inducted into the Red Boiling Springs Football Hall of Fame last Friday October 10th in Red Boiling Springs.

Those inducted were Larry Hudson, Beau Leslie, Dewey Smith Jr, and Lance Spivey.

Larry Hudson was the first assistant football coach hired at RBS. He coached with Darrell Law in 1973 and helped guide the program thru its first home game, its first win, and the construction of bleachers, a press box, and a field. He was instrumental in getting the program off the ground before he went on to coach basketball at Red Boiling Springs in 1975.

Beau Leslie started all four years in high school. He was captain of the 1996 squad while being named All-Midstate his senior year as well as All-Conference his junior and senior years. As a talented running back, Leslie had offers to play college football and was well respected by his teammates.

Dewey Smith Jr was one of the founding citizens in establishing football at Red Boiling Springs High School. In 1972 Smith and a group of other concerned people formed the nucleus of what would become the RBS Quarterback Club. Smith never had the opportunity to play football but was an avid football fan. His contacts and knowledge in the construction industry were instrumental in constructing the first playing field and bleachers.

Lance Spivey was a 1995 graduate of Red Boiling Springs High School. Spivey has the distinction of receiving the “6 Year Award” where he started on the varsity high school football team for six seasons. A defensive stand-out, Spivey was named All-Region and All-Midstate as a junior and senior. Today Lance is the professional kennel club National Director for the PKC Beagle Division. Earlier this year her was inducted into their Hall of Fame and currently holds 12 world championship titles.

These men were honored at half time of the Clinton County game at Red Boiling Springs. Each man or their representative was presented with a plaque while their accomplishments were announced. Congratulations to the 2014 inductees of the Red Boiling Springs Hall of Fame.