Skip to content

Tigers Drop Shootout to Springfield


The Macon County Tigers lose a region 5-4A contest to the Springfield Yellow Jackets by a final score of 36-43.

The game was a high-octane offensive affair.

Each team scored on their first two possessions. Following an opening Springfield score, Seth Carlisle ran it in from 2 yards and Marshall Avera tied the game for Macon at 7-7. Following another Springfield score and two point conversion, Carlisle broke a 59 yard scoring run and Jason Sewell magically converted the fake field goal to knot the game 15 all. Springfield would add two more scores and late in the first half, Seth Carlisle fumbles fighting for a first down just past midfield. Getting up off the ground Tiger Tanner Cleary scoops up the ball and plays on, hearing no whistle. Everyone else quits on the play and Cleary is rewarded on the heads-up 40 yard fumble recovery for a score. At the half Springfield leads 29-22.

Following a Macon three and out with the opening possession of the second half, Springfield would score two more times to take a three touchdown lead 43-22 after three quarters. Macon would not quit and midway through the 4th Seth Carlisle sneaked it in behind the right side of his offensive line. Avera added the PAT and the score was 43-29. Following a defensive stop Macon scores again as Carlisle adds his fourth score on a 6 yard run. Avera converts and Macon trailed 36-43. If the Tigers had had just a little more time who knows what might have happened. Final score Springfield 43 Macon 36 in an offensive shootout.

For the game Seth Carlisle went 5 of 12 for 70 yards passing and added 240 yards rushing on 25 carries and 4 touchdowns. Matt Austin added 60 yards on 19 carries. Tyler Carlisle had 2 catches for 23 yards and Jason Sewell had 1 catch for 38 yards. Dylan Butler led all tacklers from his linebacker position with an impressive 15 stops in the game. Both offensives combined for well over 700 yards on a total of 112 plays and 42 combined first downs.

This was the last home game of the 2015 season. The MCHS Class of 2016 says goodbye to: football players Matt Austin, Kenny Bailey, Tyler Carlisle, Clay Carnahan, Jedediah Coley, Wade Dye, Hunter Dyer, Dillon Halliburton, Tanner Lowhorn, Jacob Keene, Evan Perrigo, Moses Rodriguez, and AJ Simpson, band members Alley Brown, Shawnee Fox, Autum Gammon, Matt Harper, Bailey Howell, Nick Hill, Jordan Kelley, Holly McClanahan, Aysiah Oglesby, Clayton Reid, Larissa Sowers, Jeffrey Steinmetz, Joshua Sturges, Madeline Thomlinson, and Jamie Wright, cheerleaders Katie Ellis and Anna Hogan. We certainly wish all of these young men and women the very best of luck in whatever the future may hold for them.

Next week the Tigers will travel to Meade County, KY to take on the Green Wave. Game time is scheduled for a 6:30 pm Central kick-off.

(Photos by Julie Collins)