Skip to content

Wilmore Elected Mayor of Lafayette

By Debbie Gregory

Jerry Wilmore was elected mayor of Lafayette by a heavy majority in the Thursday, June 18,  city election.


Wilmore, who is a city councilman, received 373 votes (73.43 percent), and his opponent, incumbent Richard Driver, polled 134 votes (26.38 percent).

Elected to the three council seats were incumbent Jason Phelps, 270 votes; Jeff Hudson, 266 votes; and Bryan Nichols, 192 votes. 

Others in the city council race were Pam Cothron, with 141 votes; Jeff Duncan, 107 votes; David Kempf, 187 votes; Tom Roberts, 79 votes; Roger Russell, 151 votes; and Kenny Patterson, 22 write in votes. 

Jerry Wilmore worked at Tri-County Electric for over 43 years and he retired in February of 2019.  He is presently serving a four year Lafayette City Council term. “I would like to thank everyone who came out to vote in the city election, and I would also like to thank everyone for all their support during my campaign for mayor,” said Jerry Wilmore.

There will be a special called meeting of the Lafayette City Council, this Wednesday night, June  24, and the new mayor will resign from his council seat.

The mayor and councilmen will be sworn in on Thursday, June 25, 2020. 

Voter turnout for this election was low with only 19.04 percent of registered voters in the City of Lafayette casting their ballot.

The election results were certified on Monday afternoon.