Skip to content

Ford Named 20-21 Teacher of Year

 The Teacher of the Year award is presented annually to a deserving educator within the Macon County School System. Nominees are selected by the building level principals and then voted on by principals and county supervisors.

This year’s winner is Cindy Ford.  Ms. Ford has taught physical education for 35 years, first in Lafayette for many years until transferring “back home” to Westside for the last several. Cindy is very well respected by her peers and loved by her students. She goes out of her way to improve her students’ gross motor skills while always making her instruction fun and engaging.

“I have been teaching for the past 35 years,” said Cindy Ford. “I started here at Westside Elementary for two days a week, at Red Boiling Springs for two days a week, and Enon one day a week. Then I went to Fairlane Elementary for 29 years, before returning to Westside last year.”

“I’ve worked with a lot of great teachers throughout the years, and we have a good system here in Macon County. We have a lot of caring teachers. This year has been difficult on everybody, and really everybody needs to be teacher of the year – this year – because we have been through a lot, but we made it. This is a great school and I enjoy being here. I actually feel like I’m home, because I attended school here at Westside. I went here 1st grade thru 8th grade – so I’m home. I’m very honored to be Teacher of the Year. I wasn’t excepting it. It was a shock, but it was a good surprise.”

The Macon County School System is proud to award Cindy Ford as is its 2020-21 Teacher of the Year. Along with a plaque, Ms. Ford also received $500 to spend in her PE classroom from the Macon County School System. She was also presented with a crystal owl award and a $250 check from Horace Mann, who helps sponsor the annual event.

“We are very blessed to have a P.E. teacher here at Westside that loves our students and loves our school. I couldn’t be more proud of her,” said Westside Principal Angela Marshall. “I am very happy that she won this award after 35 years of teaching in our school system. She deserves this honor so much. So, Miss Ford, we love you and we are very proud of you!”