Skip to content

Macon County Cross Country has year-end banquet

The Macon Country Cross Country teams annual banquet was held Sunday, November 13th. Award Winners are as follows for each grade level.

Elementary Award Winners: Fastest-Brayley Law and Bentley Halcomb, Most Improved-Haven Doss and Jayden Kemp, Sportsmanship Award-Georgia Hackert and Kelton Jetton, and Coaches Award-Kaybree West and Tuff Dickens.

MCJH Award Winners: Point Leader Award-Addison Whittemore and Brayden Leftrick, Rookie Award, Peyton Benge and Landon Presley, Leadership Award-Sydney Green and Caden Presley, and Grinder Award-Abby Hire and Troy Wix.

MCHS Award Winners: Most Improved-Aubrie Ward and Collin Morgan, Tiger Award-Taylor Ward and John Carter Wilson, Coaches Award- Violet Hackert and Matthew Evans, MVP-Laykin Ellis and Isaac Kirby.

Three seniors were recognized for their years of running: Zach Presley ran 7th and 8th grade. He returned this year to run. He has been running on the track team since he was a sophomore. Matthew Evans has ran every year since he was in 7th grade and has ran track every year. Isaac Kirby has ran XC for seven years since he was in 6th grade. He is also on the track team.

MCHS XC members were recognized for participating in 2022 Cross Country State Championships on November 3rd, at Sanders Ferry Park in Hendersonville, TN. They were: Aubrie Ward, Collin Morgan, Evan Groesbeck, Matthew Evans, Isaac Kirby, John Carter Wilson, Parker Whittemore, and Laykin Ellis.

Laykin Ellis made the MSCCA 2022 All Mid State XC AA team as she was recognized among the top runners in the state at the annual banquet at Brentwood Academy Monday November 7th.